Hey, I’ve published a book

Mount Independence

I’ve just received copies of my book called Mount Independence, which, oddly enough is about Mount Independence, a Revolutionary War fortification site and Vermont State Historic Site. This is a completely self-published title. Not only did I write it. I also took the photographs, created the map, did the layout of the interior, designed the cover and got it printed. So it was a lot of work in my spare time, although it is fortunately a short book. I’ll be awarding myself a Pulitzer and a MacArthur Fellowship, but that’s only after I take over hosting the Oprah Show, so I can interview myself after naming Mount Independence an Oprah’s Book Club Selection.

All seriousness aside (as Steve Allen would say), this was a labor of love. Mount Independence is a unique and beautiful place. Every time I walk its trails, I see something new or with a fresh and unexpected perspective. I have tried to capture that enthusiasm in the few pages of this short book. You can read more about it on the new web log I’ve set up for it and related subjects: www.road2hubbardton.com.

I only wish I could have come up with a better title.

Categories: History | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Hey, I’ve published a book

  1. Hugh

    Steve,

    Just to say — congratulations and good luck with the book. Many years ago (41 to be exact), I spent a very enjoyable time in Vermont and neighbouring states, visiting several historic sites. If I am lucky enough to return, I’ll be sure to purchase your book.

    By the way – when I wrote in another place about your Tinderbox review “Now for the book”, I had no idea that the suggestion would be so quickly fulfilled!

    H

  2. Steve Zeoli

    Thanks, Hugh. If you find yourself in this part of the world again, let me know. It would be nice to meet one of my favorite fellow Sciv/Tbox/outliner commentators face to face.

  3. Hugh

    Thank you very much, Steve. One day, I hope, I will take you up on your offer.

  4. Pingback: My book REALLY is for sale « Welcome to Sherwood

  5. Pingback: My book really is for sale! | Road to Hubbardton

  6. Doug Burton

    I need a copy…. My Grandfather from that time ” Lt Jonathan Burton” speaks of Mt. Independence in his diary… I went there a few years ago and walked the grounds… very nice!! look forward to reading your book,,, Doug Burton

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

