The Daschle stink

I had to run an errand this morning, so I spent more time in the car than usual. Luckily for me I was able to listen to NPR prattle on about Tom Daschle’s tax problems and what an embarrassment it is for President O. I don’t get this. It was Daschle didn’t pay his taxes. I mean, he was a legislator for years and an adult for even more, but somehow it is Obama who should be embarrassed by this? I’m sorry, but it seems to me if you think you can trust the guy to overhaul our healthcare system, it isn’t too much to trust that he has paid his taxes. Next we’ll learn that Hillary Clinton doesn’t floss everyday or that Eric Holder doesn’t get enough fiber in his diet… and that’ll be embarrassing to Obama too. Please!

Now, that isn’t to say that I don’t have any problem with the Daschle nomination. The guy has been in the pocket of the healthcare industry for the past few years. Is it realistic to believe any significant reforms were going to be made under his watch? Maybe, but it seems doubtful to me. Republicans made this point, and it is a fair one, though I’d ask where they were when Dick Cheney was beating the drum for war in Iraq after making $40 million at Halliburton.

Leave a Reply

