Why I’m hoping the Giants win tonight

Normally I root for the American League team in the World Series, unless that team is the Yankees. And now I have to add another team to the list — one that should have been there for a while, but because it was never an issue before I hadn’t thought about it. That other AL team I have to root against is the Texas Rangers. Why? Their association with a recent past president.  Enough said.

And, truth is, I’ve become fond of the scrappy team from San Francisco. They’re a great young pitching staff, surrounded by a bunch of cast offs. It’s hard not to root for them.

Finally, there is another reason I’m hoping the Giants finish off the Rangers tonight: The sooner the World Series is over, the sooner the Red Sox can start doing whatever it is they are going to do to improve the team for 2011.

Leave a Reply

