Happy Thanksgiving!

When I was a kid, like any (Christian) kid in the United States, my favorite holiday was Christmas. I mean what’s not to like about a day when you get a G.I. Joe, a Creepy Crawler Set and a new sweater? Sure, having to go to mass first was a drag, but then the Catholic Church considerately invented midnight mass, and we could get that dreary task overwith on Christmas Eve.

Back then Thanksgiving was just a hurdle to get over on the way to Christmas. Oh, sure, I liked the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade for a year or two, especially when Underdog showed up, but then I realized it was pretty much the same every year and soon grew kind of tiresome. And my dad hogged the TV to watch football anyway.

But now, well I guess it’s just a sign of being middle-aged that I have come to think of Thanksgiving Day as my favorite holiday. It’s a day we get to eat all we want, and then we don’t have to go back to work for three more days. What a great idea!

I still don’t watch the parades, except for the one in “Miracle on 34th Street.”

Anyway, Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

