If she only had a brain

So when I saw this article about NBC hiring Sarah Palin to co-host the Today show, I thought “must be an April Fools joke.” But no. It’s April 2nd!

For those of you who don’t remember, NBC used to be a television broadcast network along with ABC, CBS and Fox. It had some great programming, being the network that broadcast “Cheers” and “The Rockford Files.” It had a respectable news department. Chet Huntley and David Brinkley did the evening news. Even it’s late night programming was great with Johnny Carson and Steve Allen as hosts of the “Tonight Show.”

But NBC has made one stupid decision after another in recent years and with this latest move, it has just about completed its decent into absurdity. Sarah Palin is barely able to spell her own name. A geek who makes fart sounds with his armpit would actually sound more intelligent than Sarah Palin. Even  Fox News describes her as “inarticulate and uneducated.” But some how NBC has decided she’s worthy of filling the chair once inhabited by Barbara Walters and Jane Pauley? Could they have been trying to get Michael Palin and just picked up the wrong Rolodex card?

What does NBC stand for, anyway? Nothing But Crap apparently.

UPDATE: Watch this video to get a preview of what Today Show viewers have in store this morning.

21 comments

    1. John, you are welcome to comment on my blog, but I unapproved your second message because of how you referred to President Obama. I’m not a big fan of his, but I don’t want comments like that here. (And yes, I may be a hypocrite because I’d probably allow that kind of reference to George Bush — in fact, I’m probably guilty of it myself.) I hope you understand.

      1. Steve, you’re an idiot.

        “I unapproved your second message because of how you referred to President Obama”

        “I don’t want comments like that here”

        “I may be a hypocrite because I’d probably allow that kind of reference to George Bush”

        You douche.

      2. And by the way, didn’t you say you weren’t going to look at my blog again? I guess I must be more interesting than you want to admit.

      3. “Yes, interesting enough for me to come back. Of course, being interesting isn’t always a good thing hence freak shows.”

        So you DO get my point about NBC putting Sarah Palin on the “Today Show.”

      4. So correct the slang terms that I applied to him and publish my comments. As a writer, I have a huge problem with someone entirely censoring another’s content.

  1. Hey Steve
    At least you admit to being a hypocrite and yet you seem okay with that. You also seem okay with rank censorship although liberals howl at censorship and foist things like “piss christ” on us and worse yet paid for by tax payer expense. Of course you would never ever do something like
    “piss Koran” Just shows that you have one set of rules for your very timid egos and yet another to excoriate conservative christians (obviously because we deserve it). These are the same liberals who would decry hate speech and have tried to legislate hate speech and yet you are the most egregious offenders of that vile art

    1. John, I’m okay with being a hypocrite on my blog because it is my place for expressing MY view. And, to be honest, I do not think I ever referred to George Bush as inappropriately as you did President Obama in the note I unapproved — but I could be mis-remembering. For what it is worth, I wouldn’t approve a comment in which someone used the term “piss christ” in a derogatory manner, even though I am an atheist.

  2. Well perhaps you recall that the “artist” in question not only did it with a crucifix submerged in urine in a drinking glass and the NEA paid for it out of taxpayer expense. When the conservatives railed at such sacrilige all the libs cam out screaming censorship and artistic freedom.

    1. John, “Piss Christ” was a controversy almost 25 years ago. The NEA didn’t “pay for it” as you state. They helped fund the visual arts competition, which awarded the piece its top prize. The way you frame this you make it sound like the NEA directly paid the artist to create the work, as if they commissioned it. The liberal point of view on this is that the government can’t tell arts agencies who should receive prizes. And, finally, the point the artist was trying to make wasn’t that he was pissing on Christ, but that this is what society has done to Christ’s image. You may not agree with that assessment, but that’s the point of art. Personally, I find the piece distasteful because, frankly, I have no interest in looking at anyone else’s urine.

      As for censoring your comments, I would never try to stop you from stating them on your own blog or in any other forum. But what gets put up here is my responsibility and calling President Obama a butt hole is not acceptable here. And, anyway, you should thank me, because if you’re the genius you say you are, you should have been able to make your point without the juvenile reference. Had you done so, I would not have unapproved the comment.

  3. Okay Steve you want a more articulate comment. I refer you to the MLK Dream Speech where he said we should not judge a man on the color of his skin, but on the content of his character. By Obama’s own statements he makes himself a serial liar. Starting with a comment that I actually approved of: That if he were elected he would order the health care negotiations be transmitted on C span for all to see. Once elected he locked out the press and the Repubs and crafted the health care law in violation of the Sunshine Laws. He was accosted by the president of C Span for going back on his word in a letter to the president. I could go on here but simply punch into Google the lies of Obama and the Broken promises of Obama and it goes on for pages. If you like your health care plan you can keep your health care plan. I have ZERO respect for the man, his character is seriously flawed. No slang names used here.

    1. John, that has to be one of the longest chronological gaps between comments. I guess this has been eating at you, and I know the feeling. I’m going to take you at your word that there are lots of lists that claim to expose the lies of Obama. I even believe there really are many times when he has gone back on his word. Sadly, that’s the way politicians work. I don’t like it. It’s one of the reasons I’m not a big fan of Obama’s — although it is not the only one. However, I’d like to know if you feel the same way about Republican serial liar George Bush. Because that man told one fabrication after another, starting with his promise that he would not engage in “nation building,” and then starting two of the biggest foreign fuck-ups in history. Oh, then there is the good one about Iran having WMDs. That’s a knee slapper, I’ll tell you. Then there was the time during the Enron scandal that he pretended not to know Kenneth Lay, when Lay had been loaning Bush his corporate jet during the campaign just a year before. And have we ever been told the truth about Bush’s Air Guard service? I doubt it. And these are just the lies I can come up with off the top of my head. Assuming you’re being truthful when you imply that your poor opinion of President Obama is because he is a “serial liar,” then you should have zero respect for George W. Bush, too.

      1. Actually, it had not been eating on me. I was researching where my blog came up on the web and your blog came up with my comments. So I went back and looked at it because frankly I had forgotten about it.

        Now as to George Bush, clearly you have been drinking the Kool Aid of the liberals. Dan Rather lied with phonied documents and lost his job over it. Bush DID NOT LIE about the WMD’s. Alll of the world’s security said that he had them and in fact had used them on his own people. Clinton allowed Hussein to throw out the weapons inspectors for years and of course Hussein either buried the weapons or gave them to neighboring countries. For example during the first Gulf war he had his pilots ferry the last remaining fighter jets to Iran. The motto in the middle east is the enemy of my enemy is my friend even thoug Irag and Iran were mortal enemies. This was consistent with his style as he hid someself in an underground bunker. All the dems had the same security briefing as Bush and came out vigorously stating that Hussein had WMD’S as well as did Britain. Get your facts straight.

        That is one of the things that I respected about Bush is that he said what he meant and meant what he said. Now as far as nation building, I fundamentally disagreed with letting Irag get away with not repaying us with oil money for our assistance which was the original plan.

      2. Using the term “drinking the liberal Kool Aid” is patronizing and a poor argument. It implies I can’t think for myself, and it is a convenient way to just dismiss the mountains of evidence counter to what you want to be true.

        Regarding Bush’s Air Guard record: I did not refer to Rather in my assertion that we don’t know the truth about Bush’s Air Guard Service. Your pushing off that issue onto the Rather/CBS scandal is pretty typical deflection by conservatives, and is bad logic. There remain many questions about Bush’s Air Guard Service, and even if you accept that the documents Rather relied upon were fakes (which has never been proven), that doesn’t answer those questions. Bush himself was not forth coming with the facts.

        Just for one example and this quote:

        In 1999, Bush spokesman Dan Bartlett told the Washington Post that Bush finished his six-year commitment at a Boston area Air Force Reserve unit after he left Houston. Not so, Bartlett now concedes. “I must have misspoke,” Bartlett, who is now the White House communications director, said in a recent interview.

        Regarding the false claim of WMDs: Robert Wilson reported to the Bush administration in 2002 that it was NOT true that Iran was purchasing uranium from Niger, but Bush claimed the opposite when he was making the case for invading Iraq.

        http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/3056626.stm

        When Wilson went public with this, he was retaliated against by the Bush administration with the exposure of his wife as a CIA agent. Quite the stand-up guy, that Bush. I can see why you admire him.

        That Britain under Tony Blair went along with Bush is no evidence that Bush didn’t lie. There is evidence that both Blair and Bush had access to information that Iraq had no WMDs, but both world leaders dismissed it.

        http://www.cnn.com/2006/US/04/23/cia.iraq/

        And a member of Bush’s own cabinet says that Bush had plans to invade Iraq before 9/11, and implied the WMDs were just a rationalization:

        http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/news/washington/2004-01-11-oneill-iraq_x.htm

        http://www.cbsnews.com/news/plans-for-iraq-attack-began-on-9-11/

        Intelligence was fixed to fit the required outcome, not to demonstrate what was true:

        http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/05/12/AR2005051201857.html

        When authorizing the invasion of Iraq, Bush accused that country of being part of the conspiracy behind the 9/11 attacks, when he knew that was false.

        Look, I’m not arguing that you have no right to admire Bush. But don’t pretend that the reason you don’t like President Obama is because he lied. Clearly that is not the litmus test you really use.

        Personally, I believe both of our last two presidents have been such liars that they make Bill Clinton look like George Washington in comparison. (Not that I’m equating Obama’s lies to Bush’s. It is my opinion the latter’s were much more harmful and disgraceful.) I didn’t even want to vote for Obama in the last election, but decided Mitt Romney was too vile to lend passive support to by NOT voting for Obama.

  4. Yes well how do you account for the fact that all the liberals in the Senate and Congress who were privy to the same security briefings came out wholeheartedly saying that Hussein had WMD’S especially since he used them on his own people. For a liberal giant like Rather to be fired from ultra liberal CBS news indicated that their own internal investigation indicated that the docs were fakes.. Rather got burned by all kinds of conservative bloggers that were ex military exposing his fakery.

    Bush fulfilled most of his campaign promises regardless of whether we agreed with them or not. He gave Hussein ample warnning before attacking and gave him a chance to conform with the UN sanction conditions for which of course he refused.

    So we will just have to agree to disagree because you are rooted in your own beliefs

    1. Just for the record, I used to be a conservative, but have changed my politics due to what I’ve learned about the world and the sliding of the entire political spectrum to the right. You can disagree with me, but don’t imply that I’ve got beliefs that can’t change.

  5. Well that really causes me to wonder about you. It has been said if you are not a liberal as young person you don’t have a heart and if you are not a conservative as you get older you don’t have a brain. More welfare queens and victim mentality for you apparently and free abortioni on demand

  6. And as for Sarah Palin, she grew up in Alaska which made her naive to big time big city Chicago style politics that does not make her stupid. She correctly interpreted death panels from Obamas health care fiasco. I read her autobiography and was impressed with her intellect and I have a genius IQ for the record

    1. For a guy who claims a genius IQ, you sure have a talent for tossing conservative cliche’s into the blender and coming up with bull shit. I no longer take your comments seriously.

Leave a Reply

